Spaghetti Sauce

Spaghetti sauce

I have always made my own spaghetti sauce.  It is never really the same, I use the basic recipe below, but have found that each time I make it, I add something a little different each time.  I go by taste and for some reason, each time, my taste buds tell me that I need to add this or that.  I think that you really have to cook by taste.  You can follow a recipe exactly and it never comes out exactly the same.  Trust your sense of taste and it will never steer you wrong.  Here is the basic recipe I use.  Add what your sense of taste tells you to.

2 large onions, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

1 orange or yellow bell pepper, chopped

3 stalks of celery, diced

1 shredded carrot

6 cloves of garlic, minced

3 tablespoon olive oil

2 – 14.5 ounce cans diced tomatoes

2 – 14.5 ounce cans crushed tomatoes

2 – 14.5 ounce cans tomato sauce

3 – 6 ounce cans tomato paste

4 tablespoons snipped fresh parsley

3 tablespoons snipped fresh basil

4 tablespoons snipped fresh oregano

6 tablespoons snipped fresh marjoram

1 tsp. fennel seed

1  cup red wine

1/4 cup brown sugar

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. freshly cracked pepper

Mix all ingredients in a large stockpot.  Simmer, uncovered, for about 2 hours, stirring occasionally.  Will reduce and thicken during this time. Taste and add more salt if needed.  Pour into containers, seal and label and date.  Allow to cool to room temperature and freeze or can as desired.  Can be stored up to 3 months in freezer.  I have found that it tastes fresher if stored in freezer.  Makes about 7 quarts.

Leave a Reply

