Fresh Strawberry Tart

strawberrytart1

Right now strawberries are in abundance in the grocery stores.  Strawberries are one of my favorite fruits.  I love this fresh strawberry tart.  The recipe that I started with had that glaze that you buy in the stores.  The first time I decided to make this recipe, I bought a package of that glaze.  It was the worst thing I have ever tried.  I knew there had to be a better way.  I could make my own glaze.  First I tried with bottled strawberry nectar. I mixed it with sugar and cornstarch and came up with a nice glaze.  It tasted a lot better than the  packaged glaze, but still didn’t have that really fresh flavor.  I tried thinning my homemade strawberry jelly…..still not what I was looking for.  I had a blueberry tart recipe that used pureed blueberries so I decided to try that and substitute strawberries.  Success….

Crust

1  1/4 cup flour

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 stick cold butter, cut into small cubes

Filling

4 pints fresh strawberries, cleaned and hulled

3/4 cup sugar

2 tablespoons cornstarch

1 1/2teaspoons Sure-Jell (the kind for low sugar jellies)

pinch of salt

1 tablespoon lemon juice

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  In food processor, combine flour, sugar, salt and butter.  Process until large moist crumbs form.  Transfer dough to a 9 inch tart pan.  With floured fingers, press evenly into the bottom and sides of the pan.  Freeze until firm, about 15 minutes.  Prick bottom of dough all over with a fork.  Bake until golden, about 20-25 minutes.  Cool.

In a food processor, puree 1 1/2 cups of strawberries till smooth.  Whisk sugar, cornstarch, Sure-Jell, and salt in medium saucepan. Stir in berry puree, making sure to scrape corners of pan. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring constantly with heatproof rubber spatula, and bring to full boil. Boil, scraping bottom and sides of pan to prevent scorching, for 2 minutes to ensure that cornstarch is fully cooked.  Mixture will appear frothy when it
first reaches boil, then will darken and thicken with further cooking. Pour into a large bowl and stir in lemon juice. Let cool to room temperature.

Add berries to bowl with glaze and fold gently with rubber spatula until berries are evenly coated. Scoop berries into pie shell, piling into mound. If any cut sides face up on top, turn them face down. If necessary, rearrange berries so that holes are filled and mound looks attractive. Refrigerate pie until chilled, about 2 hours. Serve with freshly whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

