Pecan Pancakes

phpThumb_generated_thumbnailjpg

While on vacation I had some wonderful Pecan pancakes.  I have tried various other restaurants since then and could not get Pecan pancakes like the ones I had in a restaurant in Kansas while on vacation.  I finally gave up and decided that I needed to come up with a recipe for these pancakes. As my friends and family will tell you, I am not one for mixes and I really can’t stand the taste of pancake mixes. I must have the real thing, pancakes made from scratch and real maple syrup. I searched cookbooks, talked to friends, looked on the internet, but every attempt came up kind of disappointing.  I played with a lot of the recipes and wasn’t having much success, and then I found a combination that pretty much nailed it.  So this is my version of Pecan pancakes.  Not too sweet, just the right mixture of pecans and pancake. Going to have to make some right after I finish writing this out.  Yum.

1 cup flour

1/2 cup finely chopped pecans, slightly toasted

1 tsp. sugar

1 tsp. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg, freshly grated

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup buttermilk

2 tablespoons melted butter

1 large egg

Stir together dry ingredients.  In a bowl mix buttermilk, butter and egg.  Add to flour mixture stirring just until dry ingredients are moist.  Depending on whether you like thick pancakes or thin, you might need to add a little more buttermilk to thin the batter.  Add the pecan and lightly stir.  Preheat the griddle and spray with cooking spray.  When a drop of water skittles across the griddle, then it is ready.  Pour about 1/4 cup of batter for each pancake on the griddle.  Cook pancakes until tops are covered in bubbles and edges look cooked.  Turn and cook the other side.  Serve immediately with lots of warm maple syrup (or if you really like pecans, homemade butter pecan syrup). This makes about 10 good-sized pancakes.

Leave a Reply

