Red Velvet Pancakes

thCAQBDIJG

I love Red Velvet Cake and cupcakes.  Recently, while watching a cooking show where they visited food trucks, I saw a truck that served Red Velvet pancakes.  Well, I’m up for dessert for breakfast and since I love Red Velvet, I knew I would have to find a recipe for these.  I found lots of recipes, and started trying out this one and that one, but they didn’t quite meet my expectations.  They were too sweet, or too dry.  The batter was too heavy, or the ending result didn’t taste right.  Time to play with the recipes and find a mixture that resulted in a pancake that I would love to make and eat over and over.  I don’t know why I can’t just be satisfied with what I get.  I just always have to try to improve the end product, whether it’s in something I make or something I cook.  I made my Home Ec teacher crazy. I couldn’t just stick to a pattern, I had to use several patterns and make a few pattern pieces myself to come up with the dress I liked.  Oh well, will just chalk it up to being a Virgo.  LOL.  Well, here is the recipe I came up with.  Hope you like it.

1 cup flour

1/2 cup cocoa

1/2 cup powdered sugar

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/4 cup buttermilk

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

2 tablespoons red food coloring

3 tablespoons melted butter

Sift together the dry ingredients.  In a separate bowl, whisk the buttermilk, eggs, vanilla and food coloring, whisk until light and fluffy.  Gradually stir in dry ingredients.  Add melted butter and stir until smooth.  Make sure there are no lumps.  If you want your pancakes a little thinner, add a little more buttermilk. Heat griddle and when a drop of water skittles across then the griddle is ready.  Pour onto griddle in sizes you prefer.  Cook until bubbles form across the top and edges look cooked.  Flip and cook other side.  It is easy to burn these so watch them carefully.  I serve these with some whipped cream cheese that has been thinned with a little milk.  Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

