Pecan Pie Squares

pecan pie squares

I was talking to some coworkers the other day and they were telling me about a place that they had gone and the pecan pie was the best they had eaten in quite a while.  It made me think of pecan pie and I wanted to go home and make one, but at the end of the day I am pretty tired, so I try to keep my pie baking till the weekend.  Then I thought of these, so much easier to throw together than the pie, but still has all the flavor and the flaky crust on the bottom, so you still get the full enjoyment of the pie.  You can also play with this one, like I do with my pie, to come up with slightly different flavors.  Thow in some chocolate chips, add a little bourbon or rum to the filling, etc.  Love these bar cookies.

3 cups flour

3/4 cup butter, cold and cut into small cubes

1/4 cup sugar

3/4 tsp. salt

Cut butter into flour, sugar and salt until crumbly.Press firmly into a 15x10x1 baking pan and bake at 350 degrees until light and golden brown.  This takes about 20 minutes.

For the filling:

4 eggs

3 tablespoons melted butter

1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 1/2 cups Karo syrup (or any good corn syrup)

2 1/2 cups roughly chopped pecans

Mix all ingredients together, beating till well mixed and fluffy.  Add pecans and stir to mix.  Pour over crust and bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.  Allow to cool and cut into squares.

Additions:  Some times I will add to the mixture, 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips or 2 tablespoons rum or bourbon.  The alcohol burns off in the cooking, but if you are worried about that, just use 2 tsp rum flavoring instead.

Leave a Reply

