Peach Lavender Jam

Peach lavender Jam

It’s  peach time in Fredericksburg so I am thinking about my peach recipes all the time.  Time to head to Fredericksburg, buy my peaches and get busy.  I thought of this recipes.  It’s funny that I thought of this one. I am allergic to lavender so I can’t enjoy this jam, but I have made it for my friends who love lavender.  They love it and ask for it, so I guess it’s a good recipe.

2 tablespoon of dried lavender flowers

1/2 cup of boiling water

4 cups of finely chopped peaches

2 tablespoon of lemon juice

6 cups of sugar

1 box of pectin

In a small bowl, place lavender and pour boiling water over the flowers.  Steep for about 20 minutes, then strain and discard the flowers.

Combine lavender water, peaches, lemon juice and sugar in a pot.  Bring to a full boil over high heat and boil for 2 minutes, stirring constantly.  Add pectin and stir well.   Skim foam off top and discard.  Ladle into hot jars, wipe rims and screw on lids.  Process in water bath for 10 minutes.  Turn heat off and let sit for an additional 5 minutes.  Remove to racks and allow to cool.  Makes about 6 jars of jam.

Leave a Reply

