Baking Soda Biscuits

Baking soda biscuits

Biscuits are one of my most favorite types of bread.  They are good for breakfast with gravy, or butter and jam.  They are great as a quick-lunch, filled with slices of ham and cheese and wonderful, hot from the oven with fried chicken or fish.  You can add anything to the basic biscuit recipe and come up with a totally different type of biscuit.  I just love that.  When my kids were little, I would make them cinnamon raisin biscuits, orange biscuits, and lots of other fruit and spice based biscuits for breakfast and dinner always brought savory biscuits, cheddar and chive, cream cheese and garlic and many time just plain baking soda biscuits.  You can’t beat hot, fresh from the oven biscuits.  Here is the base recipe for these biscuits, then I added some of my favorite “mix ins” at the end. I use a food processor to save time.  I use to cut in the butter by hand, but have found that I save time using the food processor to cut in the butter and they come out just as good.  Make sure you do not over process or over handle the dough.  This makes the biscuits tough.

2 3/4 cups flour

2 tsp. salt (I use kosher salt)

3 tablespoons sugar

2 tsp. baking soda

4 tsp. baking powder

10 tablespoons cold butter cut into small pieces( unsalted)

1 1/2 cup buttermilk (if you don’t have buttermilk, add 1 tsp. vinegar to milk and allow to sit for a few minutes)

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.  Combine the dry ingredients into the bowl of a food processor.  Process once or twice using the pulse button.  Add the butter and pulse until the dough resembles a course meal, kind of pebbly.  Turn on the processor and slowly add the milk until the dough comes together, no more.  Place dough on a floured surface and pat into a circle about 1 inch thick.  Using a biscuit cutter, cut out biscuits and place on baking sheet.  Makes about 16 biscuits. Brush biscuits with cream and put into hot oven.  Bake until tops are golden brown.  Serve hot with butter and jam, or gravy.

“Mix ins”

1 cup cheddar cheese and 2 tablespoons chopped chives

2 tsp. cinnamon and 1 cup raisins – glaze these when they come out with a powdered sugar glaze

2 tsp. garlic powder and use cream cheese for half of the butter

1 cup blueberries and sprinkle with sugar after brushing on the cream

1 tsp. minced rosemary, 1 tsp. chives, 1 tsp. thyme, 1 tsp. dill

2 tsp. orange zest, glaze with powdered sugar glaze that uses orange juice as the liquid

2 thoughts on “Baking Soda Biscuits

  1. I made these the other night and they turned out way too salty and bitter. I was very careful to follow the recipe, but I think maybe it calls for too much baking soda or salt or something. I thought maybe you wrote tbsp when you meant tsp or something like that. Or maybe that’s how they’re supposed to taste and I’ve just never had them before and didn’t know what to expect, but I thought I’d let you know either way.

    • Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I did not edit check this before I uploaded it because I was rushed. You were right there was a misprint in the amount of the baking soda, it was suppose to be tsp. not tablespoon. I have corrected that. On the salt, I use kosher, you do not get as much salt as with the regular, fine grind salt. I noted this on the recipe when I corrected the soda. Also I use unsalted butter for these biscuits, so I noted that also. The decrease in soda should make them less bitter and by using kosher salt and unsalted butter they will be less salty. I am so sorry that your first batch didn’t turn out well because of the misprints. Hope you will try these again. They are my kids favorite biscuits, well with the exception of my Angel biscuits.

Leave a Reply

