Key Lime Cheesecake

Keylime cheese cake

I’m not a really big sweets person.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my chocolate.  But although I make a lot of desserts for my kids, my family and friends, I don’t really like desserts that are really on the sweet side.  I do like cheesecakes.  I think it’s because they are not really sweet.  Even the recipes that are very, very rich.  I can have one slice and be satisfied.  I posted my favorite, the chocolate cheesecake, earlier today and then thought of my second favorite.  So here it is, my Key Lime Cheesecake.

1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs

6 tablespoons melted butter

3 packages of cream cheese at room temperature

1 cup sugar

1 tablespoon corn starch

3 eggs

1 tablespoon lime zest

2/3 cup key lime juice

Combine cracker crumbs with melted butter and stir.  Press into the bottom and slightly up the sides of a 9 inch springform pan.  Refrigerate while making the rest of the cheesecake. In a mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese, lime zest, sugar and cornstarch until smooth and fluffy.  Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Turn the mixer to low and slowly add the key lime juice.  Do not over beat or the cheesecake will crack.  You want it just mixed in. Remove pan from refrigerator and pour batter into the pan.   Bake at 300 degrees for about 55 minutes.  The center will just about be set at this point.  (Tip:  I put a shallow pan half full of water on the rack under the cheesecake while baking.  This keeps the oven from being too dry and helps keep the cheesecake from cracking in the center)  Turn oven off and let sit in the oven with the door slightly open (about 4 inches) for about 30 minutes.  Remove from oven and refrigerate overnight before serving.  I serve this with whipped cream sprinkled with a little lime zest.  Very pretty and gives it the little extra lime zip.  This is a very popular cheesecake that is asked for quite often.

3 thoughts on “Key Lime Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Cafe Cubano (Cafe Bustelo – Cuban Coffee) Cheesecake, v2 | akula51 dot net

  2. Pingback: Low Fat Blueberry Oreo Cheesecake | Yummyfoodmadeeasy

Leave a Reply

