Applesauce cake with Grand Marnier Frosting

Applesauce cake

Fall is coming.  It is one of my favorite seasons.  We don’t really have a Fall season here in Texas, but I fondly remember the falls of home, leaves changing colors, the smell of smoke in the air, apples, pumpkins, the chilly evenings.  When I think of Fall, I think of all the Fall dishes that I love.  One of these is applesauce cake.  I pair my applesauce cake with a frosting that has Grand Marnier in it as a flavoring.  The slight orange flavor of the Grand Marnier just seems to make the apple flavor pop.  I bake mine in a 13 x9 in cake pan, but you can bake it in two round 8 inch pans and frost the sides and in between the layers if you wish.  I think once you try this cake, it will become one of your favorites.

3 cups flour

2 tablespoons of cocoa powder

1 tablespoon of baking powder

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. allspice

1/2 tsp. cloves

1/2 tsp. salt

2 cups sugar

2/3 cup butter, softened

2 eggs

2 cups applesauce (I use my homemade applesauce that I make from tart apples)

1 cup raisins (I use the golden raisins, but you can use regular if you want)

1 cup chopped nuts (walnuts or pecans, your choice. I like black walnuts when I can find them)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Butter a 13 x 9 inch cake pan.  Line bottom with parchment paper and butter the paper.  Sift first 8 ingredients.  Beat sugar and butter till fluffy.  Beat in eggs.  Beat in flour mixture and applesauce.  Stir in raisins and nuts.  Bake 25-30 minutes.  Cool in pan for about 15 minutes (This step is if you are making the round layers and want to create a layered cake)  Cool completely before frosting.  Frost with Grand Marnier Frosting.

Grand Marnier Frosting

1 1/2 cups butter, softened

2 1/2 cups powdered sugar

3 tablespoons heavy cream

1 tablespoon of Grand Marnier

1/4 tsp. vanilla

Beat butter till smooth.  Beat in cream and powdered sugar.  Add Grand Marnier and vanilla.  Spread frosting over the top of cake.  If making a layered cake spread frosting in between layers, then frost the sides and top.  You can leave plain or sprinkle with chopped nuts.

One thought on “Applesauce cake with Grand Marnier Frosting

  1. Pingback: pork chops and applesauce | Artsy Wanderer

Leave a Reply

