Crockpot Swiss Steak

Crockpot Swiss steak

I love my crock pot.  I like that I can put ingredients into it when I leave for work in the morning and come home to a houseful of wonderful smells and just set the table and dinner is served.  Not that I don’t enjoy cooking, but when you know that you are going to have one of those hectic days, this just makes it easier.  Swiss steak is a recipe that my family loves and they like the meat so tender that it is falling apart.  This recipe does just that.  This is comfort food.  This is the recipe I grew up with and I just made some simple changes to make it even better.  My mother didn’t really like to cook, so she made things that were pretty simple.  She would take round steak and pour a couple of cans of stewed tomatoes and a package of dry onion soup over it in the crock pot and turn it on and serve it over instant rice.  Many of your moms probably used the same recipe.  I think it was in the recipe book that came with the crock pot.  When I was about 10 I started cooking and soon took over cooking the meals for my family.  I loved the flavor of this dish, but I’m not a person who likes to use prepackaged, processed foods.  When I started having children of my own, I started worrying about preservatives and other chemicals that were added to these food products and started experimenting with recipes.  Nothing prepackaged in this dish. 

2 1/2 pounds round stead, cut into large one inch sized pieces

1 8 ounce package mushrooms, sliced

1 cup sliced onion

1 cup sliced celery

1 tablespoon minced garlic

1 green pepper, chopped

1 14.5 ounce can fire-roasted diced tomatoes (if you can’t find these, regular diced tomatoes are fine)

1 8 ounce can tomato sauce

1/2 cup beef broth

2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. ground pepper

In a 4-6 quart crock pot, combine steak, mushrooms, onion, celery, garlic and green pepper.  In a bowl combine tomatoes, tomato sauce, beef broth, Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper.  Pour over steak mixture.  Cover and cook on low for 8-10 hours.  Serve with rice or mashed potatoes.  Serves 6

One thought on “Crockpot Swiss Steak

  1. Pingback: What Sides are Best with Beef and Lean White Meat? | Delicious Steak: Pros and Cons

Leave a Reply

