Porkchops with Mustard Cream Sauce

Porkchops with Mustard cream sauce

As I have said before in my blog, I can’t leave recipes alone.  If I find one that I like the flavor of the food, but it doesn’t make enough or I feel the sauce is too thick or thin, or it had extra steps and I feel I can make it easier, I just have to play with it until I am happy with it.  This is one of those.  This is one of one of my family’s favorites, but it just had too many steps and it made too little sauce and I felt it just needed a little more in the flavor department, so off I went.  This is the end result.  You can make this pretty quickly on a busy week day night and it’s a recipe that your family will ask you to make again and again.  My daughter, who normally will not eat pork chops, even likes this recipe.  You can serve it any way you want, with mashed potatoes or rice, or like I do, with buttered noodles.

2 1/2 pounds of thin cut, boneless pork chops

3 tsp. salt

3 tsp. ground pepper

1 stick butter, divided into 3 portions

2 shallots, thinly sliced

1 cup white wine

2 tsp. minced fresh sage

3 cups heavy cream

2 tablespoons coarse-grained Dijon mustard

garnish – Fresh sage leaves, thinly sliced

Sprinkle pork chops with salt and pepper, be sure to do both sides.  In a large skillet melt 1/3 of the butter over med heat.  Add half the pork chops and cook for 3-4 minutes per side until browned.  Remove from skillet and keep warm.  Add 1/3 of the butter and cook the second half of the pork chops 3-4 minutes per side until browned.  Add to the other pork chops and over to keep warm.  In the skillet add the last 1/3 of the butter and add the shallot and cook stirring constantly for about 2 minutes.  Slowly add the wine and the minced sage and using a wooden spoon, scrape the browned bits from the bottom of the skillet.  Cook until the wine is reduced by half.  Stir in the cream and simmer for 4-5 minutes until sauce is thickened.  Stir in mustard.  Serve over pork chops.  Garnish with thin slices of fresh sage.  Serves 4-6 with good-sized servings.

One thought on “Porkchops with Mustard Cream Sauce

  1. Pingback: Pork Italian Style | jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

