German Chocolate Pie

German Chocolate Pie

I love German chocolate cake.  It is one of my favorites and everyone who knows me, knows that there are not many cakes I like.  So it just makes sense to make a German chocolate pie.  I found a lot of recipes for German Chocolate pie and tried almost all of them.  They were too sweet or had too much coconut or not enough pecans.  I don’t know why I can’t just let things be. They just didn’t match up to my vision of what I wanted a German chocolate pie to be.  So I started playing and trying different things.  This is what resulted from that journey. I warn you, this is a very rich pie, so you want to serve smaller slices.

1 (4 ounce) package of German chocolate

1/4 cup butter

1 (14.5 ounce) can of evaporated milk

1 1/2 cups sugar

3 tablespoons corn starch

1/8 tsp. salt

2 eggs

1 tsp. vanilla

1 unbaked 10 inch deep dish pie shell

1 1/3 cups sweetened, flaked coconut

1/2 cup chopped pecans

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Melt chocolate with butter, over low heat, stirring until blended.  Remove from heat and gradually blend in the evaporated milk.  Mix sugar, cornstarch and salt thoroughly.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.  Gradually blend in the cooled chocolate mixture.  Pour into the pie shell.  Combine the coconut and pecans and sprinkle over the filling.  Bake at 375 degrees for 45 minutes.  Filling will be soft, but will set while it is cooling.  Do not overcook.  Cool at least 4 hours before cutting.

One thought on “German Chocolate Pie

  1. Pingback: Peque sem culpa ….coma CHOCOLATE…… | Eugenia Prada

Leave a Reply

