Streusel Topped Sweet Potatoes

Streusel topped sweet potatoes

Thanksgiving is coming up fast.  I have to sit down today and make up my menu for Thanksgiving dinner.  Already have various requests from the family, both immediate and extended, on what they want.  Of course we have the standards, Turkey with mashed potatoes and gravy, two types of stuffing – both regular and cornbread, cranberry sauce (this is one of the recipes I always get to play with), green bean casserole, rolls, sweet potatoes (another recipe I get to play with (will get back to this in a minute) and the traditional pies, pumpkin and pecan (this year, have to add a buttermilk pie) and one of our family traditions – Apple cranberry crisp.  When I was young, my mother always made the sweet potatoes with brown sugar glaze and topped with Marshmallows.  I am not a big lover of store bought marshmallows.  I went along with that recipe for some time, but eventually began to slip in different recipes for sweet potatoes.  Personally, I like my sweet potatoes baked with butter and nothing else.  This recipe gives the extra sweetness that everyone likes, but is not so overwhelmingly sweet (and makes me happy because I don’t have to scrape off the marshmallows). My apologies to those who love the marshmallow topping.  It is more of a casserole than just chunks of sweet potatoes. I think once you try it, you might never go back.

4 1/2 lbs. sweet potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks

1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter at room temperature

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk

2 eggs, well beaten

1 1/4 tsp. vanilla

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1/4 cup chopped pecans

3 tab. flour

Cover potatoes with water.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and cook till tender.  Drain and mash.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Melt 1/2 cup butter.  Combine potatoes, sugar and melted butter.  Stir in milk, egg and vanilla.  Spoon into a buttered casserole dish.  Combine brown sugar, pecans and flour.  Cut in the 2 tablespoon of butter, till crumbly.  Sprinkle over the top of the sweet potatoes.  Place in oven and bake until topping is browned, about 25 minutes.  Serves about 10-12.

One thought on “Streusel Topped Sweet Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Baked Sweet Potato with Marshmallows | Everyday Family Favorites

Leave a Reply

