Bread Pudding with Rum sauce

bread pudding with rum sauce

Today is our office Thanksgiving potluck.  So here I am up making one of the most asked for dishes at my office, my bread pudding with rum sauce.  I never used to like bread pudding.  It was always too slimy, not very tasty.  I tried it a lot of places but it just never hit the mark.  Then I decided to experiment on my own.  Usually the bread pudding is made up of left overs of various types of bread. I have seen them use left over cinnamon rolls, of course white sandwich bread, French bread, raisin bread and many other types of bread.  I wanted something richer, with more flavor.  I made my first with challah, much better, but not quite what I wanted.  Of course my next choice was brioche, that was much, much better, but could be a little bit better.  I then tried brioche that had raisins added.  That gave it more flavor and cut out one step, covering the raisins with boiling water.  I liked this time saver. I do have to mention here that home made is much better, but if you are not a bread maker, you can buy some from a good bakery.  Next I had to work on the richness of the custard and the flavor.  Tried a lot of combinations of milk and cream until I came up with the one that I like, more cream to milk ratio. And I had to add extra eggs.  Next the spices.  In other bread puddings all I could taste was cinnamon.  I added extra vanilla and nutmeg.  That was the winning combination.  So here is the end result.  Hope you like it.

2 loaves raisin brioche ( will give the recipe for that later), cut into 1 inch cubes

4 cups of milk

6 cups of heavy cream

8 large eggs, plus 2 egg yolks

2 cups of sugar

1 tsp. salt

1 tablespoon vanilla

1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

Place the bread in a large bowl.  Beat the eggs till light and then beat in the sugar, salt, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Scald the milk and cream over med heat.  Temper the egg mixture ( pour a little of the hot milk mixture over the eggs, whisking the whole time to war the egg mixture)  Then pour the egg mixture into the milk mixture.  Pour over the bread and allow to sit about 20 minutes.  Butter a 9 x 13 inch pan.  Pour bread mixture into the pan.  Place the baking dish into a roaster and fill the roaster with hot water half way up the baking dish.  Bake at 350 degrees for about 50 minutes.  Allow to cool for about 10 minutes.  Serve with rum sauce.

Rum sauce

2 sticks butter

4 large egg yolks

2 cups brown sugar

2 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup rum

Place all the ingredients in a heat proof bowl over simmering water.  Cook whisking constantly until a candy thermometer registers about 160 degrees.  Serve warm.  Makes about 2 1/2 cups.

2 thoughts on “Bread Pudding with Rum sauce

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pi | Baubles & Blessings

  2. Pingback: Cybille’s Bread Pudding | momeefriendsli

Leave a Reply

