Applesauce bread

applesauce bread
I love quick breads.  They are so easy to make and make great quick breakfasts.  There are such a variety out there and you can add anything to a standard recipe and come up with a totally different taste.  This is my standard applesauce bread.  It is one of the breads I make when making applesauce and I don’t have enough to fill a jar.  I just take the extra and make a couple of loaves of applesauce bread.  You can add anything you want to this bread.  Sometimes I use walnuts that I have lightly toasted, most of the time it’s chopped pecans.  You can add raisins if you like them, or even a cup of shredded or chopped apple.  I’ve chopped up strawberries and added those or thrown in some blueberries or blackberries.  Like I said, you can try anything.  This is not an overly sweet bread.  I like it warm with a little butter or with some cream cheese.  You decide.

2 sticks softened butter

2 tsps. vanilla

2 tsp. all spice

2 tsp. cinnamon (use a really good cinnamon)

1 tsp. salt

2 tsp. baking soda

2 tsp. baking powder

1 cup brown sugar

4 cups flour

2 cups applesauce (I use my home made unsweetened applesauce – sometimes chunky, sometimes regular)

4 eggs

1 cup chopped walnuts or pecans, or any nut you want

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy.  Add the vanilla and the spices. Add the eggs and the applesauce.  Sift the flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add in small batches, folding in until mixed.  Add nuts.  Spoon into 2 greased and floured 8 x 4 inch loaf pans.  Bake for 60-65 minutes until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Let cool for 5 minutes on a rack, then turn out and allow to cool.

One thought on “Applesauce bread

  1. Pingback: Once You Go Homemade You Never Go Back; Delicious Homemade Applesauce | lovelyseasonscomeandgo

Leave a Reply

