Lime Pound Cake

lime pound cake

In the summer I have a thing for limes. Any lime recipe I see, I have to try it and of course tweak it to make it my own. I always have an abundance of limes in my fridge and thought that I needed to play with a couple of recipes and see how limes would change them up. The first one I tried was making my pound cake recipe into a lime pound cake. Turned out pretty good. Hope you like it as much as I did.

1 1/2 cup butter, softened
3 cups sugar
6 large eggs, room temperature
3 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/8 tsp salt
1 cup milk
1 tsp. vanilla
1 tsp lime zest
1/4 cup fresh lime juice (I don’t use bottled, but you can if you want)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees. Beat the butter at med speed until creamy. Gradually add the sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until just blended. Stir together the flour, baking powder and salt. Add to the butter mixture, alternately with the milk. Stir in the vanilla, lime zest and lime juice. Pour into a grease and floured tube pan. Bake at 325 degrees for about 1 hour and 15 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool in pan on a rack for about 10 minutes, then remove from pan to the rack. Allow to cool while mixing the glaze.

Glaze – mix 1 cup powdered sugar with 2 tablespoons lime juice and 1 tsp grated lime zest. Drizzle over warm cake. Allow to cool for about 1 hour before cutting.

Leave a Reply

