Chocolate Chocolate Chip Muffins

chocolate chocolate chip muffins2

I love muffins. They are the ready to go breakfast that you can just grab and head out in the morning.  I like them to be moist and full of flavor but not overly sweet.  I had tried a lot of chocolate chocolate chip muffins and they tasted more like cupcakes to me.  I wanted to find a recipe that was not too sweet and just couldn’t seem to find the right one, so I started playing with the recipes I found till I came up with the right combination.  So if you like chocolate and moist muffins that are not too sweet, I think you will like the final combination I came up with.  I warn you, these are not “skinny” muffins.  I just won’t sacrifice flavor, I think you should enjoy your food.  If you are worried about calories, just practice moderation.  So here they are……

1 1/2 cup flour

3 tablespoon cocoa

3/4 cup brown sugar

1/2 tsp. salt

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/3 cup cooking oil

1 large egg

1/2 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup chocolate chips

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.  Put muffin pan with 9 muffin papers (I like the tulip papers)  Combine the flour, cocoa, sugar, salt, baking powder and soda and sift gently to break up all the lumps.  In a mixing bowl whisk oil, egg, milk, vanilla, and sour cream until well combined.  Pour the egg mixture into the dry mixture and mix – be careful not to over mix, this makes the muffins tough.  Fold in the chocolate chips.  Spoon into the muffin papers.  Bake for 15-20 minutes.  Tops will no longer be wet and a toothpick inserted will come out clean.  These are easy to over bake since they are chocolate so do not leave them in longer than 20 minutes.   Transfer to a baking rack and allow to cool.  Enjoy

Leave a Reply

