Ham Cheddar and Green Onion Muffins

hamgreenonionand cheddar

I wanted a savory muffin for breakfast and since I love my bacon, chives and cheddar scones, I thought that ham could replace the bacon, and green onion replace the chives.  This is the outcome.  I think they turned out pretty good.  They passed the taste test with my family.

 

2 cups flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 tsp. salt

pepper (I just sprinkled a good amount on the batter)

3/4 cup milk

1/4 cup sour cream

2 eggs

1/4 cup oil

1 cup ham, diced

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese (I used  white sharp cheddar)

3/4 cup sliced green onion, white and green parts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place 12 muffin cups into the muffin pan.  Mix flour, baking powder, salt and pepper.  Sift to make sure all the lumps are out.  In a bowl whisk egg, milk, sour cream and oil.  Mix well.  Pour over the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  Fold in the ham, cheese and green onion. Spoon into muffin cups and bake for 30 minutes.  Allow to cool on rack.

 

Leave a Reply

