Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon and Shallots

Roasted brussel sprouts

I grew up hating Brussels sprouts.  They were slimy.  They tasted bitter.  They were soft and squishy.  I would feed them to the dog under the table whenever I had to eat them.  I carried that distaste for Brussels sprouts into my adulthood, never thinking that it might have been the way they were prepared that caused my dislike.  But Tommy loves Brussels sprouts, so I decided I had to find a recipe that I could make and eat without gagging. I had seen them roasted on the cooking shows, but I wanted some additional flavor to cover up the horrible taste of these vegetables.  What better flavor than bacon.  So I found a recipe for roasted Brussels sprouts and followed it.  It was a complete disaster.  It told me to cut the bacon in lardons and sprinkle over the top of the sprouts and roast at 400 degrees until the sprouts were roasted and the bacon crispy.  Well, the bacon was crispy but the sprouts were seriously overcooked.  It tasted okay, but it was not acceptable to me to serve my family something that looked so overcooked.  So of course, I had to play with the recipe.  Here is what I came up with.

1 1/2 pounds Brussels sprouts

3 tablespoon butter

2 cloves of garlic, sliced

Salt and pepper

4 slices of bacon, diced

1 shallot, thinly sliced

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.  Wash and trim the sprouts, removing the outer leaves and trimming the bottoms.  Slice in half.  In a skillet, melt the butter and saute the garlic in the butter till tender.  Remove garlic slices and pour garlic butter over the sprouts.  Pour sprouts onto a baking sheet.  In the skillet fry the bacon until almost crispy, the bacon will finish cooking in the oven so you do not want to completely cook it.  With a slotted spoon remove the bacon and sprinkle over the sprouts.  Sprinkle the shallot slices over the top of the bacon and sprouts.  Roast in the oven for about 30 minutes, stirring about every 10 minutes to turn.  This serves about 4 people.

Leave a Reply

