Turtle Topped Texas Sheet Cake

Turtle topped Texas Sheet cake

Texas sheet cake is one of my favorites.  I am not always a fan of Turtle topped desserts, but saw a recipe for a Turtle Sheet cake and decided I had to try it.  The first attempt, following the recipe, I was not a big fan of.  The cake was too thick, the recipe directed that the cake be baked in a 9×13 inch cake pan.  The cake was also very dry.  Tommy always teases me about this, but as I do with so many recipes, I had to tweak it.  My Texas sheet cake recipe is an easy recipe that produces a thinner, very moist, very delicious chocolate cake.  I thought if I took my sheet cake recipes and then adjusted the toppings, that might result in a better cake.  I used my Texas Sheet cake recipe and icing recipe, then topped it with the pecans, mini chocolate chips (the original recipe called for regular chocolate chips) and then drizzled caramel sauce over the top.  I took it to work and it was a big hit.  The only tweak I am going to make the next time I make it is to use my thicker caramel sauce recipe and toast the pecans before I sprinkle them on the top. See, I can’t even leave my own recipes alone, I just have to keep playing with them. So here it is, hope you like it.

For the cake

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 cups white sugar

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup sour cream

2 eggs

1 cup butter

1 cup strong black coffee

1/4 cup cocoa powder

For icing

1/2 cup butter

4 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

5 tablespoons cocoa powder

7 tablespoons milk (if icing is too thick, I will add another tablespoon – you want it able to pour)

For Toppings

1 cup mini chocolate chips

1 cup chopped pecans

1/2 cup caramel sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a 10×15 inch sheet pan.  Combine the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.  Beat in the sour cream and eggs.  Melt the butter and add the cocoa and the coffee.  Mix together with the rest of the cake ingredients.  Pour batter into the pan and bake for about 20 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.  In a sauce pan, combine the milk, cocoa and the butter.  Bring to a boil and remove from heat.  Stir in the powdered sugar and vanilla, mixing until blended and smooth.  Pour over top of warm sheet cake.  Sprinkle chocolate chips over top of frosting, then sprinkle the chopped pecans.  Drizzle the caramel sauce over the top of the chocolate chips and pecans.

Leave a Reply

